Game Notes · PS Vita

NORN9

It was my first time playing an English localization. The translation was lacking quality in many aspects. There were a lot of typos or missing words and some translations were simply….wrong, which is why I was glad to be able to understand what the characters were saying during the voice acting. I tried to make sense of the translation’s way of handling names/honorifics, but I failed. I don’t get it.

I’m a bit frustrated, because I really really want to love the game, but…somehow…/sigh/ Like, the game looks beautiful, the OST is great, the voice cast is amazing, but man, the story tries way too hard and it’s so ??!??!!??! weird and confusing. The heroines appeared to be different at first, but ultimately they felt p. much the same to me. About half of the relationships failed to convince me and some characters I liked better in other routes rather than their own. Usually my favorite characters are also my favorite routes, but in this game it’s not like that at all LOL. I mean, I can see why Norn9 is popular, but….at the same time I can’t. I’m liking it for all the wrong reasons. Plus, my OTP for this game is actually gay. I’m not even trying to hide it anymore.


PLAY ORDER

Heishi -> Sakuya -> Senri -> Akito -> Masamune -> Natsuhiko -> Ron -> Itsuki -> Kakeru (-> epilogue)


CHARACTER NOTES

= favorite character

Koharu
CV: Fujimura Ayumi

n9_koharu
  • second youngest heroine and the super naive/cute/pure type, has fire powers
  • people feared her and called her monster, which led to her family abandoning her and Koharu living all on her own
  • her seclusion from society and everyday interaction with others led to her being completely clueless about….everything
  • she’s afraid of making mistakes and being hated/abandoned again, which is why she tries to be nice and please everybody

Mikoto
CV: Takagaki Ayahi

n9_mikoto
  • oldest heroine and a tsun-/himedere, has barrier powers
  • she’s from a rich family, but far from being a ‘proper lady’
  • people have been worshiping her forever
  • childhood friends with Sakuya; she feels inferior to him, because he can do everything (and he even does so more gracefully than her)
  • too prideful to admit when she needs help, so she ends up pushing herself too much

Nanami 
CV: Seto Asami

n9_nanami
  • youngest heroine and the cool/stoic type, can erase memories (except for her own)
  • sorta raised as a kunoichi (her family are shinobi descendants) & carries a kunai with her at all times (it doesn’t really get her anywhere though)
  • she’s been forced to use her powers by her grandfather and feels guilty for taking other people’s precious things (memories)
  • wouldn’t mind dying as she sees this as a punishment for her ‘sins’

Sorata(♡)
CV: Abe Atsushi

n9_sorata
  • shota who came from the future that is actually the past
  • he’s smart and he lets others know ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)✧
  • too cool for everyone’s shit, always asking the right questions
  • true end epilogue gave the story yet another twist that made things EVEN MORE complicated (I’m willing to overlook it since I like Sorata and his CG with Aine)
  • I love this kid, he deserves his own REAL route

Setsu(♡)
CV: Ichiki Mitsuhiro

n9_setsu
  • ドM, he wants to be called names and stepped on all the time
  • unfortunately only has some rather brief appearances
  • I never quite understood who he was or why he was important enough to be introduced with a name and even his own character art, but I love him (for all the wrong reasons)
  • why doesn’t this guy have a route??????? ( ´◉‿ゝ◉`)?????

(in play order)

Heishi ★ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆
CV: Yoshino Hiroyuki

n9_heishi
  • happy-go-lucky, can read/transmit feelings and speak to people’s minds
  • he’s like a cute dog. At all times. Forever.
  • needless to say that the romance failed to convince me
  • they play around in a maze in his route and nothing makes sense, idek
  • I know he’s supposed to be a very sensitive person, but his sudden yandere development in the sad end just was….super weird
  • I was able to appreciate him more thanks to other routes, though

Sakuya ★ ★ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆
CV: Saiga Mitsuki

n9_sakuya
  • overprotective childhood friend (Mikoto’s), can see the future
  • Sakuya literally had everything that I love, but made use of nothing at all
  • I like him better in other routes
  • their relationship going around in circles forever and ever and ever made me wanna scream in frustration; it’s not that the general setup is bad, but the drama just feels way too forced and made me wanna flip all the tables
  • his voice actress is amazing for making me all dokidoki despite all the mess, though
  • glad I played him before playing Itsuki

Senri(♡) ★ ★ ★ ★ ☆ ☆
CV: Shimono Hiro

n9_senri
  • hikkikomori shota and Akito’s cute little brother, can control water
  • he falls victim to Kakeru’s (affectionate) bullying in every route (thank you, God)
  • adorable relationship development; it felt like taming a cute wild animal; not really sure if I ship it romantically, but I love his interactions with Koharu either way
  • not fond of his sad end, because he deserves happiness at all times
  • SENRI MOEEEE!!!!!!

Akito(♡) ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★
CV: Sugiyama Noriaki

n9_akito
  • Norn’s tsundere waifu and Senri’s big brother, not really an esper
  • a great cook who is scared of Hiyokos (MOEEEEEEEE)
  • didn’t like him much at first, because he seemed like a random copy of CZ’s Tora
  • came to like him in Senri’s route, came to love him in his own route
  • convincing romantic development
  • his outfit in the dream IS SO SUPER CUTE I CAN’T! I want to touch his ears and pet him ahhhh Akitooo///////

Masamune ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆
CV: Satou Takuya

n9_masa
  • Norn’s papa, everyone relies on him to fix everything; can see the past
  • this route is horrible, why is every other guy treated like a pervert or potentional rapist at all times?
  • Masamune getting drunk on sugar is a cute trait
  • Idk how to feel about a main character actually dying even in the HAPPY END; It’s a happy end for the CP but I can’t really feel good about it as a player
  • romance failed to convince me
  • bad ends are troll ends

Natsuhiko ★ ★ ★ ★ ★
CV: Ono Daisuke

n9_natsu
  • rebellion group leader, actually a cute nerd who likes the stars
  • I had no interest in him whatsoever, but fell in love once I played his route
  • convincing romantic development; he made my heart skip a beat or two (or ten) /////
  • generally good development on both sides; I actually like Mikoto in this route
  • quite a number of appearances for Sorata and Setsu (thank you, God)
  • the Hiyoko he builds to secretly talk to Mikoto is very cute

Ron ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★
CV: Sugita Tomokazu

n9_ron
  • manipulative sadistic asshole, has no power (but has two guns)
  • this route is pushing all my buttons /heavy breathing/
  • a character I didn’t like much in other routes, but fell in love with in his own
  • I love both versions of his ending a lot
  • the bad end is really dark (m-my fetish bells are ringing)
  • Nanami’s powers are being used for salvation for once

Itsuki ★ ★ ★ ☆ ☆ ☆
CV: Yusa Kouji

n9_itsuki
  • major playboy, has the power to control dreams
  • he’s in love with Mikoto, but hitting on other girls, too, if he gets the chance to do so
  • his own route could not satisfy the high expectations I had; half of it was dedicated to him being emo about Mikoto possibly liking Sakuya and I just—(╬ಠ益ಠ)
  • glad I played him after playing Sakuya
  • the conversation between him and Sakuya about the future changing made me like the sad end
  • his letter to Mikoto was very very cute and touching

Kakeru(♡) ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ☆
CV: Kaji Yuuki

n9_kakeru
  • manipulative sadistic asshole (except deep down he’s a cutie), can control plants
  • I love Kakeru in every route
  • smooth talker who’s making others do what he wants for fun and whose daily routine is bullying taking care of Senri (and the plants on the ship)
  • actually the enemy, since he’s being brainwashed by Yuiga Shirou
  • cute relationship development, even though his route was different from what I thought it would be
  • I love his dream outfit a lot
  • sad end is a no-go because Yuiga Shirou is a no-go
Leave a Reply

