Ramblings

HATOFUL BOYFRIEND BBL ROUTE

THIS. ROUTE. !!!!

My friend had already mentioned this route to me waaaay before I was ready to play it. Based on what he said (‘it features the whole cast’) I expected some sort of…harem plot? A silly all-cast fanservice story that has nothing to do with all the other routes. Someting like that. Anything, really. Anything but the murder-mystery I ended up getting. It’s not just the fact that the game’s genre completely changed. No, what actually blew my mind is that I found myself…enjoying every bit of it! I was excited and curious and emotionally involved even though it’s about fucking BIRDS! I can’t believe I’m saying this, but EVERYTHING in this train wreck story started making sense all of a sudden! ᕕ( ᐛ )ᕗ

The route made me change my view on many characters. Like, I was wondering all game long, why Okosan is the only bird without a human avatar CG and when I finally understood the reason I went all “oh my gooodddd”. All this time I thought Okosan is just your typical goofy character who’s got muscles but no brains, but there’s some actual explanation for that and…Okosan, I don’t even know why, but I like you much better now. ┐( ̄∀ ̄)┌ And Ryoutaaaaa!!! He finally became a real (main) character! I enjoyed him and Sakuya cooperating to solve the mystery behind Hiyoko’s death and well, the whole back story was great, too…I came to like Ryouta so much better!! The biggest change probably happened for Kazuaki, whom I didn’t like much, until his back story and connection to the whole plot got revealed. I was SO EMOTIONAL after  all that….hahhhhhh….I don’t even know where to begin!!!

BBL route is where Hatokare truly shines. I didn’t think it was possible to make such a silly plot seem so logical. I didn’t think it was possible to have so many feelings for…birds. I didn’t think I’d end up enjoying the game SO MUCH. I had really high expectations and it still managed to surprise me. I wish I could forget everything and experience the game again!

Some additional character notes…

Kazuaki/Nageki

These two…!!(joj)I didn’t expect them to be connected like that. So the bird in Kazuaki’s photo might’ve been Nageki all along, right?! Oh god…I might actually ship them a little now HAHAHAHAHA (help me). After playing Shuu’s route I thought that Nageki might have been one of Shuu’s victims (hey, the rumors of students disappearing or being cut into pieces are most likely true so…yeah). Well he kinda was, but not in the way I expected him to be. What happened to Nageki was so sad…he didn’t deserve any of this! I feel so so sorry for him!

Yuuya/Sakuya

AAAAHHHHH (BIRD) SIBLINGSSSSSS!!! I knew I would come to love them the moment they appeared on-screen (Sakuya hissing at his older brother was enough for me), but their routes kinda left me hanging. THANK YOU FOR RESPONDING TO MY NEEDS, BBL! I think the moment of truth between those two was my personal highlight. Yuuya is best bro. Protect him. Protect them both.

Shuu/Ryouta

(///Σ///) OKAY NO PLEASE HEAR ME OUT. I’m very conflicted when it comes to Shuu. I loved the craziness in his route, because it was hella entertaining. At the same time some parts of it were seriously disturbing (I can never forgive him for grilling Yuuya). BUUUUT no matter how crazy I thought Shuu was, I really liked the back story with him and Ryouta’s dad. It was something I didn’t see coming, tbh. And…and well….uhm. The person bird Shuu loved admired was obviously Ryouta’s dad, but…what if he started seeing him in Ryouta? I-I….I’m sorry I just…uhm…welp.

Leave a Reply

