game notes

HATOFUL BOYFRIEND (STEAM)

Holy shit, that was the wildest ride I ever had. I don’t regret buying this game, it was worth every single cent. However, I do regret playing it only now. Should’ve done it earlier. Much earlier!!! Also, I should’ve gone for the bundle including the OST, because it’s…actually p. cool!

Literally EVERYONE was urging me to play Hatokare and while I trust my close friends’ judgement I really didn’t see THAT much of an appeal at that time, which is why I kept pushing it back on my priority list. Like, yeah, dating birds sounded like a hilarious concept, but…yeah. Needless to say that all of this caused me to have quite high expectations right from the start. The character routes were…okay. Not disappointing or anything (some were actually quite surprising, like Anghel’s route….or Shuu’s OMFG I CAN’T EVEN), but not amazing enough to make me understand why everyone was so adamant about this game. And then…the hurtful route happened.

Hurtful route is an amazing masterpiece. Suddenly I found myself solving a murder-mystery with…birds! I didn’t see ANY of it coming (to be fair though: how could ANYONE see any of it coming?!). Every time a new piece of information got revealed it felt like a kick in the guts. In a good way (??? lol). The route was exciting, it made the whole cast shine, it made me feel for characters I was indifferent about. Sakuya and Yuuya’s interactions even managed to make me CRY! I couldn’t believe it myself. Hurtful route is the ‘real’ game here. It’s what Hatokare’s about. The otome game part was just a funny little extra. I’m 100% sure. :’D


PLAY ORDER

Nageki -> (Azami) -> Kazuaki -> Okosan -> Ryouta -> Yuuya -> Shuu -> Sakuya -> Anghel (-> hurtful route)


CHARACTER NOTES

♡ = favorite character

Hiyoko

  • human girl living in a cave, because apparently birds are the new master race
  • the only human at bird school
  • childhood friends with Ryouta
  • she loves udon and is quite the fighter
  • I don’t feel anything for her in particular

(in play order)
♡ = favorite character

Nageki   ★ ★ ★ ★ ☆ ☆

hato_nageki

  • cute and shy boy bird in the library who is in fact a ghost (??) ᕕ( ᐛ )ᕗ
  • his route ended up being quite sad
  • it got even sadder after playing the hurtful route, he didn’t deserve all of this!
  • I ended up semi-‘shipping’ him and Kazuaki /coughs/

Azami   ★ ★ ★ ☆ ☆ 

  • a sparrow who sells takoyaki for a living (I know, right…)
  • she was a member of a biker gang when she was young…such a bad girl :’D
  • silly side-story route; it was funny, but that’s about it
  • Azami’s scooter going at snail pace though…

Kazuaki   ★ ★ ☆ ☆ ☆ 

hato_kazu

  • forever sleepy (bird) math teacher
  • he gave off that ‘gentle guy with a dark secret’ aura and kinda reminded me of Robin (Ozmafia) so I was surprised by how normal his route ended up being
  • I didn’t particularly like him in the regular character route, but the hurtful route made up for it
  • for some reason the typo in his character CG is bothering me a lot
  • semi-‘shipping’ him and Nageki /coughs/

Okosan   ★ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆

hato_oko

  • good at sports, but otherwise literally a bird brain
  • he likes pudding; he even becomes the king of puddings
  • I didn’t really know how to feel about this character until I came to understand him in the hurtful route
  • Okosan actually made me wish for the existence of a Hatokare anime. I never wanted to see see a pigeon running a marathon so badly in my life

Ryouta   ★ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆

hato_ryota

  • childhood friend of Hiyoko, a good boy bird
  • probably the most boring route of them all
  • I was very disappointed and indifferent towards Ryouta until I played the hurtful route…it made me appreciate him so much more!
  • looking back at everything, I realized that he really is a typical mc, design-wise as well as character-wise

Yuuya(♡)   ★ ★ ★

hato_yuuya

  • Sakuya’s big half-brother (who later turns out being his real brother)
  • he’s a playboy so I expected a playful and flirty route
  • I got an undercover secret agent plot on top of that, how awesome is that!!
  • Yuuya’s route made me VERY curious about Shuu
  • SIBLINGS ARE THE BEST

Shuu   ★ ★ ★

hato_shuu

  • the health teacher at bird school, but actually also a mad scientist
  • I FUCKING CAN’T, THIS ROUTE HAD SO MANY WTF MOMENTS
  • I feel very conflicted, because I’m not that fond of Shuu as a ‘person’, but I like his looks and his route was so damn entertaining (while also being quite disgusting but well….)
  • also the hurtful route changed him from mad scientist to tragic scientist and…I’M JUST VERY CONFUSED OKAY
  • w-would it be wrong to ship him and Ryouta‘s dad uhm…_(┐「ε:)_
  • I will never get over the christmas present

Sakuya   ★ ★ ★ ☆ ☆

hato_sakuya

  • bratty and (supposedly) high-class bird tsundere
  • he says that he despises his older brother, but it’s not actually true, yep yep (ღ˘⌣˘ღ)
  • his route’s ends were a little disappointing, but the haunted house scene kinda made up for that (Sakuya is very cute!!!)
  • him and Ryouta working together in the hurtful route was actually really cool
  • Yuuya/Sakuya moment of truth in the hurtful route is my favorite scene in all of the game tbh…I FUCKING CRIED omg what is wrong with me

Anghel(♡)   ★ ★ ★

hato_anghel

  • BEST BIRD!!!!!!!
  • his chuuni powers are so amazing, he managed to make even me believe…
  • his route was nothing like any other character route and I loved it so much, especially the final boss fight at the end (THAT BGM!!!!!!)
  • all the RPG reference…
  • I found out that he’s voiced by Sakupyon in the drama CD…welp ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)
Leave a Reply

