Android · Game Notes

MYSTIC MESSENGER

I had only little interest in this game at first since I don’t really like mobile otome games (plus, my last Cheritz title was a huge disappointment ´_` ), but it was so hard to ignore on Twitter and so I gave in and downloaded it after all, intending to play casually and slowly check it out. Well…it was so much fun that I ended up paying money to rush through because I couldn’t waiiiit! I thought I’d give up sooner or later, which is why I decided to play my potential favorites ASAP instead of keeping them for last, as I usually tend to do. That left me to finish with the route I had the least interest in , resulting in me dragging it out forever. Welp.

As far as the concept of the game is concerned, I really loved it and wish more mobile games would try doing something similar instead of the usual scenario ticket and dress-up doll gacha stuff I’ve seen tons of times already. It was interactive and fun to play (although I’ll admit I got annoyed at having to check my phone 20 times a day as a free player). Sure, there were some parts in every route that I wish were done VN style instead of chat style, but all in all it was a good combination and the character interactions were fun to read. Another surprise was me ending up liking nearly all major characters (even if some are more likable in routes other than their own lol). Tbh I expected far less from a mobile game, it’s a nice twist!


PLAY ORDER

Zen -> Jumin -> 707 (-> secrets) -> Yoosung -> Jaehee


CHARACTER NOTES

♡ = favorite character

MC

  • some girl who downloads the app to chat with hot guys (d’uh…) and ends up joining the RFA (not like she had a choice though)
  • basically a self-insert, there’s no info about what kind of person she is or what life she was living prior to the game’s story whatsoever
  • her character changes a lot depending on route (and ending)
  • p. enjoyable in the common route (and during some bad end routes), but I wanted to slap her when attepting good ends for most characters

Vanderwood
CV: ??

  • (s)he…???
  • Seven’s ‘maid’ who is actually a secret agent in some shady organization, working as Seven’s partner (most of the time he’s cleaning Seven’s place and nagging him to get work done…like a waif– I mean maid)
  • for some reason his cuteness increased by 1000% in the secrets so I got attached
  • I want him to interact more with Saeran….
  • hopefully they consider adding more Vanderwood, if Cheritz ever decides to expand the game’s routes/stories

V
CV: Lee Hosan

mm_v

  • childhood friends with Jumin; Rika’s fiancé & basically RFA’s dad
  • unfortunately he fell in love with Rika at some point in his life ( ಠ ಠ )
  • I really wanted to like him; I tried, but his continuous betrayal of everyone’s trust for ‘muh Rika’ was too much for me to handle
  • V did everything wrong (I’m not even sorry)
  • in the end I felt a little sorry though, the game handled his character p. meh ´_`

Unknown
CV: Kang Sujin

mm_saeran

  • aka Saeran
  • Seven’s long-lost twin and the one responsible for dragging MC into this hell (thank you Saeran, ILU)
  • his hair’s originally the same color as Seven’s, but it turned white because he’s living the tragic anime boy life ┐( ̄∀ ̄)┌
  • even though his story is extremely over-the-top I’m still glad he got a happy ending. He deserved it. Saeran needs more love!!!!
  • it’s too bad he doesn’t get much screen time outside of Seven’s route & the secrets
  • I will never forgive Rika for what she did to the twins!!!

(in play order)

Zen   ★ ★ ★ ★ ☆ ☆
CV: Kim Jang

mm_zen

  • a model & actor who’s popular with the ladies due to his very good looks
  • for some reason his wounds heal super fast and he’s able to see psychic dreams (???)
  • totally in love with himself (bless)
  • JAEHEE. DROVE. ME. CRAZY. GAHHHHH !!!!! (╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻ I wanted to strangle her in every single chat, she’s the type of fan I despise the most…
  • I was too busy shipping homos to care for the relationship w/ MC, but Zen’s actually p. cute once you manage to get past all the ‘drama’
  • the gayest route (JUMINZEN OTP!! DON’T EVEN TRY TO ARGUE WITH ME!!)
  • no but seriously, how come Juminzen aren’t officially dating yet

Jumin   ★ ★ ★ ☆ ☆ ☆
CV: Shin Yongwoo

mm_jumin

  • rich and good looking CEO who loves cats (basically every girl’s dream guy lol)
  • 50 shades of gap moe
  • I only picked him right after Zen to get more Juminzen input, but sadly there was next to none (on top of that Zen was being a dick most of the time ;_; )
  • I wish I could trade some of the daddy issues and Sarah bs for more input on Jumin’s and V’s childhood and friendship
  • Jumin in most other routes >>>>>> Jumin in his own route
  • his second bad end is p. amazing tho (I guess I like kinky stuff, heh :3c )

707(♡)  ★ ★ ★ ★ ★
CV: Kim Youngsun

mm_707

  • aka Luciel, aka Saeyoung
  • (crossdressing) hacker who works for some shady agency; also a memelord
  • I didn’t understand fandom’s obsession until I played his route myself
  • my love for Seven made me buy real Honey Butter Chips (they tasted awful _(┐「ε:)_)
  • best boy, maji tenshi, precious cinnamon roll too cute&pure
  • humanity does not deserve Seven…
  • I’m totally objective when saying that his route has the best writing and pacing and basically everything is just A+++, bless God Seven
  • he is so cute!!!  ⁄(⁄ ⁄•⁄-⁄•⁄ ⁄)⁄
  • SEVEN PLS PICK UP YOUR PHONE 。・゚ヾ(✦థ ェ థ)ノ。゚・。
  • the tsun-dere ratio hurts (in a good way)
  • I will never forgive Rika for what she did to the twins
  • HE. IS. SOOOOOO. CUUUUTE  ⁄(⁄ ⁄•⁄-⁄•⁄ ⁄)⁄

Yoosung   ★ ★ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆
CV: Sim Kyuhyuk

mm_yoosung

  • college student and gamer; Rika’s cousin
  • Yoosung is cute but GOOODDDD did I hate playing his route for 2/3 of the time! Every time he compared MC to Rika I felt like throwing my phone against a wall
  • at some point I wasn’t able to tell which were the right and which the wrong answers, because this boy is ドM and gets excited over anything :3c
  • after-end Yoosung is my reward for all the pain and suffering on days 5-9
  • it’s kinda funny how everyone treats him like some delusional idiot, yet he’s totally right about V acting suspicious and lying to everyone LOLOLOL
  • teasing Yoosung is fun
  • highlight: teasing Yoosung together with Seven ヽ(*´∀`)八(´∀`*)ノ

Jaehee   ★ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆
CV: Yang Jeonghwa

mm_jaehee

  • Jumin’s secretary, forced to look after his cat & work 24/7; a big fan of Zen
  • playing her last was a mistake, because I had literally no motivation left and it took me forever; best friends routes in otome games is something I have little interest in
  • I guess Jaehee taking care of Zen was cute, but I’d much rather have Jumin take care of him hohohohoh (˵¯͒⌄¯͒˵)
  • why did Jumin have to be such an ass here? ´_`
  • highlight: Juminzen being Juminzen
  • another highlight: I GOT TO SEE SEVEN’S CUTE HAND!!! IT’S SO CUTE!!! (*/▽\*)
Leave a Reply

