Game Notes · PS3

HAKUOUKI

Funny story: I bought the digital PS3 version of Hakuouki last year(!), after deciding that “I really have to play it already (I mean, it’s been ported to hell and back, I shouldn’t be missing out…)”, only to see an announcement for a new PSV/PS4 version a little later. (°ㅂ° ╬) It made me so angry that I played 10 other games before actually starting this one. Well, whatever. MOVING ON.

This was one of the first otome games I heard about (thanks to the anime), but never actually played. Back then I was really into Okita (the character) and couldn’t handle the tragedy of the plot, so I ignored it for a couple of years. I’m not sure what the PS3 version offers that other ports didn’t, but I think the character model animation surely wasn’t there before? Personally, I didn’t like it very much though. The breathing and lip-movement looked weird and creepy for some models. Luckily there was an option to turn it all off and just have the regular, still character models for everyone, thank you!The adjustable skipping speed is a great feature which every game should have, IMO. Though I really wonder why it’s possible to set it to a slower pace too? Why would you want skipping to go slower?

As it turns out, my pet peeve still remains the plot, yet not for the reasons I expected (in other words: I don’t mind the bittersweetness anymore XD). On the on hand I’m fascinated by how meticulously (for an otome game plot whatsoever) they adapted historic events over a span of 3+(!) years. Sometimes it felt as if I was reading a history book. But then there is this weird vampire AU plotline weaved in as well, and tbh the combination of both kinda ruined it for me. I get that they wanted this to be different from other existing Shinsengumi story adaptions (while also ensuring that the main characters wouldn’t die on the battlefield before they get the chance to bang fall in love with Chizuru lol), but the way the opted for just didn’t work for me at all. Why even bother being so particular about the historic events (which, I will admit, were interesting in the first playthrough, but got very annoying in every other playthrough, since I just wanted to get to my cheesy/cute romance) if the story goes full fantasy a scene later, only to then revert back to textbook style history yet again? What I would have wanted is either less historical accuracy OR less fantasy. I can’t even tell if I thought it was too much plot (three years is a very long time) or too little (if you consider Chizuru lived with them for such a long time, awfully little happens between her and the love interests).

I really felt that I’m 10 years too late for this game LOL. I’m p. sure my past self would have loved it. I can definitely see why it became popular at the time it was released. But, tbh, I don’t see why people still go gaga over it even today. I mean, it looks great, the male cast is likable and I had fun playing, but IMHO there’s so much better otome games out there nowdays. ¯\_(ツ)_/¯


PLAY ORDER

Heisuke -> Hijikata -> Kazama -> Sanosuke -> Saitou -> Okita


CHARACTER NOTES

♡ = favorite character

Chizuru

  • she had so much potential, but in the end I’m really disappointed, despite understanding that the plot takes place at a time when women had a very different standing in society
  • why give her all those cool assets, only to never actually use them!? ლ(ಠ_ಠ ლ)
  • apparently she can dodge fucking bullets, because of her special oni powers, but fails to do the same during swordfights because ??? I don’t know actually???
  • how come her skills (? lol) never improve despite spending so much time around capable fighters?? I know they didn’t want her to do anything, but why hasn’t she even, like…tried to do something about it in secret???
  • I thought her superhuman healing ability would play a greater role, but in the end it was only good for healing the small cuts she inflicted on herself when offering blood to her love interest…SIGH
  • she sucks even as a supporter; most of the time she was just pouring tea

Yamazaki
CV: Suzuki Takayuki

HK_yamazaki

  • he’s probably the NPC I was interested in the most
  • WHY NO ROUTE (joj)
  • he’s calm and very caring…I like how he takes care of everyone, Okita in particular, despite bickering with him all the time (it’s cute)
  • since he’s a ninja he feels different to me than the other guys lol
  • most of the time he had to die off-screen (NOOOOOOOO baby)

Sannan
CV: Tobita Nobuo

HK_sannan

  • his presence was so calming in the beginning of my very first playthrough…what happened, Sannan? ;;;;;
  • on the one hand he originally is such a nice and caring dude, on the other hand he turns into a huge creeper along the way and tbh IDK how to feel about him now
  • his interactions with Chizuru (when she tries to help and cheer him up after his injury/transformation) were bittersweet and great and I really wished to be able to help him back to his old self
  • I guess I would like to have the option to ‘save’ him, but then again I’m like “Sannan route? NOPE.”…

Shinpachi
CV: Tsuboi Tomohiro

HK_nagakura

  • at first I wondered why he has no route, but then I realized that I’m not all that interested in him anyway so eh…whatever  ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
  • his interactions with Heisuke and Sano are cute…I like the trio
  • precious friendship with Sano…SUCH GOOD BROS!!!

Kaoru
CV: Itou Hasumi

hk_kaoru

  • so the brother dresses as a girl and the sister dresses as a boy…that’s some deep shit, man (not really)
  • if he really hates Chizuru so much and wants to take revenge, then why does he only show himself in Okita’s route? He would have had the possibility to get in Chizuru’s way more often…
  • this character is kinda ¯\_(ツ)_/¯ (must be a Yukimura family thing)

(in play order)

Heisuke ★ ★ ★ ☆ ☆ ☆
CV: Yoshino Hiroyuki

HK_heisuke

  • (NGL I didn’t really expect this, but) he’s a cute!
  • if only he had short hair from the beginning! IT LOOKS SO MUCH BETTER!!!
  • he’s super nice and caring towards Chizuru and it was hard for me to not respond to that, so it led to me ending up in his route in my first playthrough
  • also, his crush is very obvious and very cute (≧∇≦)
  • I like how supportive and (emotionally) strong Chizuru is here; she wants to be by his side and he treats her as his equal…they’re adorable so I keep forgetting that Heisuke is doomed to turn into ashes one day can’t help but kyaaa
  • Sannan’s creep level made me super uncomfortable; his obsession with rasetsu, the megalomania and the way he treated Sen (all the forced kissing/blood-drinking)….just eww, so many NOs

Hijikata ★ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆
CV: Miki Shinichirou

HK_toshi

  • IS2G this dude is always angry at everyone ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
  • he gets called ‘Hakuouki’ in the end, so I guess he’s the main guy
  • I can’t bring myself to like Hijikata, even though he looks gorgeous (especially after he cuts his hair and starts wearing western clothes)
  • it didn’t help that his route was, by far, the longest in the game =_=
  • Chizuru gets appointed as his page, but does nothing, other than give him blood (and tea) and cry about her own uselessness (not that he would let her do anything anyway)
  • I GOT SO ANNOYED AT BOTH THEIR ATTITUDES ALL THE TIME (╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻
  • salty about how Inoue’s and Yamazaki’s deaths seemed extremely pointless and unnecessary in this route…CHIZURU, WHYYYYY
  • the main romance was so impossible for me that I talked myself into shipping Hijikaza instead (help, it wasn’t supposed to become anything serious….)
  • no but seriously, Kazama even SMILED when Hijikata killed him…HE WANTED TO DIE BY HIJIKATA’S HANDS (am I the only one seeing this???)

Kazama ★ ★ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆
CV: Tsuda Kenjirou

HK_kazama

  • pretends to be a big bad oni in other routes, but he’s actually just bored and wants to have fun with Hijikata the Shinsengumi
  • looks better in traditional style clothing
  • since Kazama is a fictional character, his and Chzuru’s relationship could develop more freely (at least that’s what it felt like to me)
  • too bad his route was extremely short so everything happened seemingly outta nowhere LOL _(┐「ε:)_
  • it’s amazing how much he talks about Hijikata even in his own route ahaha it’s love I’m telling you help

Sanosuke ★ ★ ★ ★ ☆ ☆
CV: Yusa Kouji

HK_sano

  • Sano looks better after cutting his hair (I’m saying that a lot for this game XD)
  • didn’t have any expectations for this route but wtf, it was adorable (even though I still think Sano’s more like a…very caring and overprotective big brother lol)
  • what I really like is that Sano never turns into a rasetsu…no silly vampire drama (not as much, at least) ^0 ^
  • I do think the route is cute overall, but Sano’s constant talk about “I’m the guy, I must protect you!!1” was getting annoying at times
  • THEY. WENT. ALL. THE. WAY. ^0 ^;;;;;
  • Sano’s reactions to Chizuru’s pregnancy and his baby son were cute and precious
  • Shiranui’s presence in this route made me realize that I really like his character design (even though he has seaweed hair)

Saitou(♡) ★ ★ ★ ☆ ☆ ☆
CV: Toriumi Kousuke

HK_saitou

  • HE’S soooooooooo  A D O R A B L E   ⁄(⁄ ⁄•⁄-⁄•⁄ ⁄)⁄
  • I like him in traditional AND western clothes/with long AND short hair
  • how can the route of such an adorable guy be so messy and…boring?? Is it the Hijikata effect (we were close to him all the time after all…)?
  • mfw he drank blood from Chizuru’s earlobe (????) like, how does that even…why would you pick that place???? ( ̄∀ ̄);;
  • gotta love how he continued sucking on her earlobe even after her cut healed and there was no blood left for him to drink (also, the way he reacted when Chizuru pointed that out was extremely cute (///▽///) )
  • his blushing face in the last extra-story is a national treasure, he’s waaaaay too cute (who allowed this!!!)

Okita(♡) ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ☆
CV: Morikubo Shoutarou

HK_okita

  • I still can’t believe I finally played this game route…it took me so long that Idk how to feel about it anymore
  • I prefer traditional style Okita, though both Okitas are hot af
  • the whole Kaoru plotline was hella stupid (I’m not even sorry), buuuut I got to spend some time alone with Okita so eh…guess I’m good! ^0 ^
  • I like how his signature line of “I’m gonna cut you” slowly became kind of a….love confession??? LOL
  • his love and admiration for Kondou was very cute (he even mimics the hair style…awwwww!!!)
  • “Good night, Souji.” ;;;;;;;; the ending scene was so bittersweet and it hurt more than any bad end ever could
  • Chizuru was holding a sword and fighting alongside Okita…I wonder WHAT HAPPENED??? I wish she had done some of that (all of it, actually) in the other routes as well!!!
Leave a Reply

